In fact, weapon charges come with pretty steep consequences, whether these charges stand alone or are being tacked on to other charges like a violent crime or drug crime. If you’re facing weapon offense charges, you’ll want a reputable Asheville weapons charges defense lawyer on your side to help defend against your charges.
What Are North Carolina’s Laws and Regulations for Owning a Firearm?
In North Carolina, there are different regulations based on whether the firearm is a handgun or a long barrel or whether practicing concealed carry vs. open carry. For North Carolina residents to legally purchase a firearm, they must:
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Pass a background check
- Have no domestic violence misdemeanor or felony conviction on their record
- Have a purchase permit for a handgun
Purchasing a shotgun or rifle is a relatively easy process, but being a resident and having a clean record is still essential. Handguns, on the other hand, have more restrictive rules surrounding them in North Carolina state, which are imperative to follow.
Even though an individual who is 18 years old can possess a handgun, only individuals who are 21 years old or older can purchase one. They must carry a valid driver’s license from the state of North Carolina or another type of state-recognized identification card that contains current information and isn’t expired.
Individuals must also have a permit to purchase a handgun. They can acquire a permit through their local sheriff’s office and are provided with one once they pass a background check that confirms they have no domestic abuse-related misdemeanors or felonies on their record or anything else that will disqualify them from being able to buy a handgun.
North Carolina’s Open Carry and Concealed Carry Laws
North Carolina’s open carry and concealed carry laws can vary, making it vital to know the difference between them. North Carolina State is an open-carry state. If you’re 18 years of age or older and you can carry a firearm legally, you can open carry in North Carolina.
However, certain public places and buildings do have the ability to ban this practice. For instance, if you’re not a police officer, you’re not allowed to simply walk into a courthouse with a handgun strapped to your side.
Concealed carry will require the person to be 21 years of age or older, and have passed a background check. Then, it’s the permit holder’s responsibility to know the additional regulations and rules in the state. These rules and regulations can sometimes be confusing, and if you don’t know or understand one of them, you could be charged. In this case, you would want an experienced and skilled Asheville weapons charges defense attorney to defend you against these charges.
What to Do if You’ve Been Charged With Unlawful Firearm Use in NC
Firearm-related charges are serious, and you’ll want to treat them as such. If you’ve been charged with a firearm or other weapon-related charge, you should not talk with law enforcement and try to explain your situation. You’ll also want to contact a highly-skilled weapons charges defense attorney right away to ensure your legal rights are protected and that you don’t mistakenly sink your case prior to getting legal representation.
Common North Carolina firearm crimes include:
- Gun possession by a felon
- Concealed weapons without a permit or an expired permit
- Improper transfer of firearm ownership
- Carrying weapons where alcohol is sold
- Possession of a weapon on school property
It’s crucial to have a good attorney on your side who is skilled and experienced with North Carolina law and firearm/weapon law.
How Can an Asheville Weapons Charges Defense Lawyer Help?
You’re not necessarily “guilty” just because you received a weapons charge in North Carolina. There could be grounds for a dismissal of this charge based on various factors. An aggressive and knowledgeable NC weapons charges defense attorney will work to “poke holes” in the case built against you and possibly render the case inadmissible in court.
They’ll conduct a thorough investigation of your case in order to uncover certain factors that may lead to a dismissal or acquittal of your case. Or, if it makes more sense to enter a plea bargain, a knowledgeable weapons charges defense lawyer in Asheville, NC will work with the prosecutors to get your charges or sentence reduced.
Contact the Experienced Asheville Weapons Charges Defense Lawyers at King Law Today
If you’ve been charged and arrested for a weapons crime, it can feel like you’re completely helpless against the justice system. It can feel overwhelming trying to handle a criminal defense case by yourself. This is why it’s essential that you reach out immediately to a criminal defense attorney at King Law after being accused of a weapons charge or other crime.
The experienced Asheville weapons charges defense attorneys here at King Law have the knowledge and experience to help our clients who have been charged and arrested. We are committed to providing the outstanding legal representation that you require to get your charges dropped or reduced. Call us today at (888) 748-5464 or (888) 748-KING to schedule your consultation. Alternatively, please fill out our contact form.