While being charged with a misdemeanor will result in less severe penalties than if you were being charged with a felony, it is still serious and can have life-altering effects if you are convicted of the offense. If you have been charged with a misdemeanor offense in North Carolina, you should contact a criminal defense lawyer who can help build your defense case.
King Law is a criminal defense law firm in North Carolina with extensive experience helping clients who are facing charges for a misdemeanor offense. Our award-winning firm is dedicated to building solid relationships with every client we work with to be able to provide them with personalized legal services. We are passionate about helping clients build a strong defense and providing them with the trusted representation they deserve. Our goal is to help protect you and your rights as you go up against the North Carolina criminal justice system.
What Are the Four Categories of Misdemeanors in North Carolina?
In North Carolina, different misdemeanor offenses are divided into four categories. The four categories are A1, 1, 2, and 3 and depend on the level of severity of the offense. Other determining factors that contribute to the final outcome of a misdemeanor case include your criminal record and whether you have made any deals with the district attorney’s office. The four categories of misdemeanor offense are broken down as follows:
Class 3 Misdemeanor Offenses
This type of misdemeanor offense is the least serious of the four classifications. If charged with a Class 3 misdemeanor, the maximum penalty you will face is 20 days in jail and a $200 fine. Some examples of Class 3 misdemeanors in North Carolina include:
- Simple possession of marijuana
- Concealing goods in a store
- Driving while license is revoked (DWLR)
- 2nd degree trespassing and city code violations
If you have less than four prior convictions on your criminal record, the law states that you can only be charged with a fine and will not receive jail time or probation.
Class 2 Misdemeanor Offenses
If you are charged with a Class 2 misdemeanor in North Carolina you may face a maximum penalty of 60 days in jail and a $1,000 fine. This class of misdemeanor offenses include crimes like:
- Simple assault
- Disorderly conduct
- Resisting a police officer
- Carrying a concealed weapon
- Failure to stop for a blue light and siren
Class 1 Misdemeanor Offenses
If charged with a Class 1 misdemeanor, you may receive a maximum penalty of 120 days in jail and a discretionary fine. These crimes include:
- Possession of drug paraphernalia
- DWLR if your license was revoked due to a DWI conviction
- Possession of stolen goods
- Damaging personal property
- Making threats
Class A1 Misdemeanor Offenses
This is the most serious classification of misdemeanor offenses in North Carolina. The maximum penalty for a Class A1 misdemeanor is 150 days in jail and a discretionary fine. This class of North Carolina misdemeanors include:
- Assault with a deadly weapon
- Assault inflicting serious injury
- Assault on a female
- Assault on a government employee
- Violation of a restraining order
A discretionary fine can vary in cost greatly depending on the crime committed and the severity of that crime.
What Will Happen When Your Misdemeanor Case Goes to Court?
After you have been arrested and charged with a misdemeanor in North Carolina, your case will be heard by your district court. When you arrive for your court date, you may have a few different options concerning your case:
- Your criminal defense attorney can negotiate a plea deal
- Your attorney may show the district attorney that you have a strong defense for the claims made against you or that the charges against you are false, in this case the DA can dismiss your case
- If the necessary witnesses never show up to court, your case may be dismissed
- You can take part in a deferral program depending on your prior criminal record
- You can plead “not guilty” and take your case to trial
If you are unsure of what to do when your misdemeanor case goes to court, it is important that you contact a criminal defense attorney who can help you with your case.
Get Help from a North Carolina Misdemeanor Lawyer
Being charged with a misdemeanor crime can have negative impacts on a person’s life. If you are facing a misdemeanor trial, it is important that you contact a North Carolina misdemeanor lawyer for help as soon as possible.
The criminal defense attorneys at King Law have experience helping clients who have been accused of a misdemeanor offense in North Carolina. Our award-winning legal team is dedicated to providing the trusted representation you deserve. To schedule a consultation, contact us here or call (888) 748-5464.