North Carolina Traffic Violations Lawyer

When you are charged with a traffic violation, you may think that paying the fines is the best course of action to move on. However, many experience frustrating circumstances when other costs and avoidable consequences arise.

In North Carolina, pleading guilty or being found guilty of traffic violations can subject you to court fines and fees, driver’s license points, increased insurance rates, and sometimes jail time or loss of driving privileges. 

These consequences all could be dismissed or diminished with the experienced help of a North Carolina traffic violations lawyer. An attorney can assess your case, evaluate the strengths and weaknesses of the case against you, and build a strategic defense to protect your driving privileges.

Types of North Carolina Traffic Violations

Whatever your traffic violation may be, it will likely impact your driving points. In some traffic offenses, you may even lose driving privileges or your freedom. Our knowledgeable North Carolina traffic violation lawyers are equipped to defend the following cases of traffic violations:

  • Speeding 
  • Moving violations 
  • Non-moving violations 
  • Stop-sign and red-light violations 
  • Commercial driver’s license violations
  • Driving under the influence or driving while impaired violations 
  • Habitual DUI/DWI 
  • Ignition interlock device cases 
  • Driving with a revoked license
  • Driver’s license restoration 
  • Other types of traffic ticket violations 

If you have been charged with a North Carolina traffic violation, speak with a skilled traffic violations lawyer for an assessment of your case and the potential to reduce or dismiss your penalties and damage to your driving record.

What Is North Carolina’s Driving Point System?

Driving offenses in North Carolina can be classified in one of three categories and rely on a driving point system. These points accumulate over time, and if you accumulate more than 12 points in three years, your driver’s license may face suspension. Driving offenses are classified in the following categories: 

  • Infraction: An infraction is for traffic violations that result in tickets such as speeding or running a stop sign. If you are convicted of an infraction, you can expect to pay fine and court fees. 
  • Misdemeanor: A misdemeanor offense is a minor crime conviction, which may lead to your arrest and up to 60 days in jail in addition to fines and court costs. Offenses like DWIs, leaving the scene of an accident, and reckless driving are all misdemeanor crimes.
  • Felony: A felony offense is a serious crime conviction, which may lead to prison incarceration up to one year as well as high fines and court costs. Felony offenses include hit-and-runs, vehicular manslaughter, and habitual DUI/DWI. 

North Carolina’s driving point system assigns a numerical value to traffic offenses on a person’s driving record. The more serious the traffic violation is, the more weight the points carry and the more it tarnishes your driving record. There are specific penalties for an accumulation of points. The following is the North Carolina point system for traffic violations:

  • One-point: Littering from a motor vehicle
  • Two-point: Failure to restrain a child with a seat belt and other moving violations 
  • Three-point: Running a stop sign or red light, speeding over 55 mph, failure to yield, driving with no license or expired license, failure to stop for an emergency vehicle, driving through a safety zone, driving with no insurance, failure to report an accident, speeding in a school zone 
  • Four-point: Reckless driving, hit and run (property damage), following too closely, driving on the wrong side of the road, illegal passing, failure to yield right of way to a pedestrian, failure to yield right of way to a bicycle or motorcycle
  • Five-point: Aggressive driving and passing a stopped school bus 

If you accumulate up to seven points, you may be court-ordered to take a driving course. Upon completion of the driving course, three points may be deducted from your driving record. The fee for attending a driving course is $65. 

Speak with a seasoned North Carolina traffic violation lawyer for guidance surrounding your case and to build a strategic defense to protect your driving privileges and driving record. 

Speak with a North Carolina Traffic Violations Lawyer at King Law 

If you have been charged with a serious North Carolina traffic violation, speak with a knowledgeable attorney at King Law. We are here to help defend any minor or serious offense that could result in negative consequences such as high fines, jail time, license suspension, or an adverse mark on your driving record. We will work diligently to build a strategic case on your behalf so you may have the best possible outcome for your case. 

The legal team at King Law will assess your case and thoroughly walk you through the best options moving forward. We are seasoned in navigating the most complex traffic violations, so you can feel confident in our defense and award-winning representation. Call (888) 748-5464 to speak with a skilled traffic violations lawyer or fill out our contact form.