First-Degree Sexual Exploitation of a Minor
You’ll be charged with first-degree sexual exploitation of a minor in NC if you knowingly:
- Use, induce, force, facilitate, or employ a minor to engage in sexual acts for a live performance or to produce a visual representation of this activity
- Let a child under your custody engage in sexual activity for the purpose of producing child pornography or in live performances
- Transport or pay for the transportation of a minor to travel across North Carolina to perform or produce child pornography
- Film, photograph, or copy materials depicting a minor engaging in sexual activity for financial gain
Generally, first-degree sexual exploitation of a minor is committed by anyone who facilitates or is involved in the production and participation of minors in sexual activities. This is a Class C felony in North Carolina that carries a sentence of at least 51 to 64 months for first-time offenders.
Second-Degree Sexual Exploitation of a Minor
A person will be charged with second-degree sexual exploitation of a minor if they:
- Record, photograph, film, develop, or copy any material that has a minor engaging in sexual activity
- Distribute, transport, sell, receive, solicit, buy, or exchange materials having a minor performing sexual acts
This is a Class E felony, with offenders receiving a possible sentence of 15 to 31 months.
Third-Degree Sexual Exploitation of a Minor
To be accused of third-degree sexual exploitation of a minor, the prosecutor will find you in possession of material containing a visual representation of a minor engaging in sexual activities and are aware of the character and content of the material. This is a Class H felony, punishable with a 4 to 8 month sentence.
Typically, being charged with sexual exploitation attracts a heavy penalty. The penalties are even worse for offenders previously convicted of any sexual offense. Therefore, don’t hesitate to contact King Law lawyers for help if you are accused of any of these crimes.