Misdemeanor Charges in Marion
In North Carolina, misdemeanor charges are grouped into various categories depending on the severity of the offense. Other determining factors contributing to a misdemeanor case’s final outcome include criminal history and whether you have made any deals with the district attorney’s office.
The four categories of misdemeanor offenses include:
Class 3 Misdemeanor
Class 3 misdemeanors are the least severe classification in North Carolina. The maximum penalties for these convictions may include up to 20 days in jail and a $200 fine. Some examples of a Class 3 misdemeanor include the following:
- Simple possession of marijuana
- Concealing goods at a retail establishment
- Driving with a revoked license
- 2nd-degree trespassing and city code violations
If you have less than four prior convictions on your record, you may not receive jail time or probation but may be forced to pay a fine.
Class 2 Misdemeanor
If you are charged with a Class 2 misdemeanor in North Carolina, you may face up to 60 days in jail and a $1,000 fine. The following examples are Class 2 misdemeanor offenses:
- Simple assault
- Disorderly conduct
- Resisting arrest
- Carrying a concealed weapon
- Failure to stop for law enforcement
With an experienced Marion misdemeanor lawyer on your side, you may fight the charges against you to protect your future.
Class 1 Misdemeanor
A Class 1 misdemeanor is one of the most serious classifications in North Carolina. You may receive up to 120 days in jail and a discretionary fine, depending on the circumstances of your case. Examples of a Class 1 misdemeanor include the following:
- Possession of drug paraphernalia
- Driving with a revoked license following a DWI conviction
- Possession of stolen goods
- Damaging personal property
We are here to help guide you through the legal process and offer experienced legal counsel so your penalties may be reduced or expunged. We understand that you are presumed innocent until proven guilty, and we work tirelessly to defend your legal rights.
Class A1 Misdemeanor
As the most serious misdemeanor classification, the maximum penalties may include up to 150 days in jail and a discretionary fine. Examples of a Class 1 misdemeanor may include the following:
- Assault with a deadly weapon
- Assault inflicting serious injury
- Assault on a female
- Assault on a government employee
- Violation of a restraining order
A discretionary fine may vary depending on the severity and type of crime committed. At King Law, we fight to absolve you of criminal charges so your criminal record remains untarnished. We will immediately begin to investigate the details of your case so we may obtain key evidence to help prove your innocence.
Defending Your Misdemeanor Charges in the Courtroom
Following an arrest and charge of a misdemeanor in Marion, your case will be heard by your district court. Depending on the circumstances of your case, you may have the following legal options:
- Negotiate a plea deal with the help of your misdemeanor lawyer
- Deliver a strong defense for the claims made against you to the district attorney so your case may be dismissed
- If the necessary witnesses never show up to court, your case may be dismissed
- Take part in a deferral program depending on your prior criminal record
- Plead not guilty and proceed to trial
It is essential to speak with a highly experienced misdemeanor lawyer upon a misdemeanor charge, as they can help you navigate the legal process and defend you in court. You may be subject to harsher penalties or convictions without a misdemeanor lawyer on your side.
Speak With a Marion Misdemeanor Lawyer at King Law
Being charged with a misdemeanor in Marion can be stressful. With the help of a skilled criminal defense lawyer at King Law, you may achieve the best possible outcome for your case. We are committed to protecting your legal rights and freedom at every step of the legal process.